Confession

I was standing in a room full of important people today at a 2pm press conference announcing the first school of community medicine in the nation, which will be established at the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa, with the support of a 50 million dollar donation from the George Kaiser Family Foundation. Invited guests included each of the major news channels, the Tulsa World, president Clancy, former president Ken Levitt, president Boren, mayor Kathy Taylor, and George Kaiser. As each one got up to speak, all I could focus on was the question, “What would happen if I just started yelping in the back of the crowd?” I longed to be a disruptive child running through the serious pant legs and dress shoes all around me. At 2:23, I would have happily traded my high heels for the Mary Janes of my youth. Why didn’t I realize then the freedom of those shoes and my frilly white socks?

Leave a Reply

