Spring


It’s not here yet, but I can see it coming. Winter was more than metaphorical this year in Oklahoma. I’m sure there were deeper snow drifts and colder temperatures somewhere else, but for south central USA, it verged brutal this year. Bitter cold started in November, took a horrific turn to ice at the start of December, and has recently been fighting with a southern breeze, winning with random snow storms in the southeastern parts of the city. Grey skies have been the back drop of my work days for months. Met with pitch black drives home for dinner at 6pm. Coats and sweaters and scarves and hats and gloves and windows and doors have caged me.

Tonight, I’ve got my windows opened in the living room, and the breeze sings of transition. Signs of spring are all around: On my well-lit drive home from my office, I saw hundreds of birds perched on phone lines, resting, as they fly home from their winter vacation spots. Ideas are flowing and creativity is on the rise. Oh, Spring, come quickly and stay for a long visit. I promise to be a grateful host!

One thought on “Spring

  1. I think I might make a copy of this and put it in my journal! I love the entry! Esp. when you say: Oh, Spring, come quickly and stay for a long visit. I promise to be a grateful host!

Leave a Reply

