True Story

This little guy is on Charlotte. He's waiting for Spring. I'm right there with him.

1. My apartment smells like pizza, which makes me happy because I really, REALLY love pizza.

2. February is a tricky little month, full of gray days, 90% chance of snow once a week, and the occasional super-duper-liar sun who comes out but doesn’t warm up anything.

3. In light of all the bleakness, even while taking a Vitamin D supplement, a “blah” feeling has settled in my bones and scared into hiding all of my creativity.

4. I’m a full time student for the first time in six years and I love it, which is great because after this semester I’ll still have 81 hours to earn.

5. In Midtown, we’re examining our defaults about ourselves, our city, the Church, and pretty much everything that makes up our worldview.  We’re hoping to see Christ and then be willing to die in response.  It’s pretty much the hardest thing I’ve ever done and most of the time I feel like Peter when Christ said to him, “Get behind me, Satan!  You are a stumbling block to me; for you are not setting your mind on God’s interests, but on man’s.”

5b. I read that whole story this week, from Matthew 16.  It was pretty hilarious until I realized the character I most identify with in the story, wasn’t in fact the hero.  HATE it when that happens.  Maybe you’ll fair better when you read it:

Matthew 16:5-12

“And the disciples came to the other side of the sea, but they had forgotten to bring any bread.  And Jesus said to them, “Watch out and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees.  They began to discuss this among themselves, saying, “He said that because we did not bring any bread.”

“But Jesus, aware of this, said, “You men of little faith, why do you discuss among yourselves that you have no bread?  “Do you not yet understand or remember the five loaves of the five thousand, and how many baskets full you picked up?  Or the seven loaves of the four thousand, and how many large baskets full you picked up?  How is it that you do not understand that I did not speak to you concerning bread?  But beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees.”

“Then they understood that He did not say to beware of the leaven of bread, but of the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.

Humility.  And it keeps on coming.  If you keep reading, you see Peter “get” that Christ is the Son of God, but at the same time NOT “get” what that means–That Christ will die, and to follow him he’ll have to die too.  I’m totally Peter all the time.  That’s the point of our deconstruction here in Midtown.  We’re looking away from traditions and what we “know” and looking at Christ.  We see our unbelief and we’re begging for it to be transformed.  I’m really thankful for the truth later on in that passage that when we SEE Christ and are changed it’s because of the Father and not because we remembered the bread.

One thought on “True Story

  1. Pingback: Tested. « My POP: Vignettes from a life in pursuit of passion

Leave a Reply

