Flashback

I have high hopes of one day getting all of my thoughts from a year in Korea together enough to make a cohesive story, which could be published as a travel essay.  I have absolutely no idea how to do this, but I thought just reading through some old notes, which I saved from my long lost “Xanga” blog might get me inspired.  This one was pretty short and kind of hilarious, so I thought I’d share it with you.  I was just talking about this book “Mere Christianity” and this cd “Share the Well” with JB yesterday, exclaiming in that pushy way I do, that he MUST read and listen. Apparently I’ve felt the same way about both for five years!  The advice still stands for anyone who’s willing to heed it.

(Originally posted June 20, 2005)

I’ve just spent two hours arbitrarily assigning grades to 100 of my elementary school students.  I must admit, this is my least favorite thing to do as a hokwan teacher.  (And just so you know, it ranks lower than stopping bloody noses, cleaning up a kindergartener’s lunch once it’s already been in his stomach, and asking Peter to wipe off the residue on the table left by his wall- shaking sneeze.)  Ok, maybe Peter should be left off the list…that was really gross.  Regardless, the task is almost finished, and I am looking forward to leaving this poorly lit, poorly ventilated pc bang for the comforts of home and the companionship of C.S. Lewis as I dive into “Mere Christianity.”

I was feeling pretty good on my way to the pc bang.  I spent the half hour before I came sitting outside, eating a cheese and egg sandwich from my favorite sandwich shop.  I was totally satisfied as I walked the blocks to my favorite bang, and then just to prove pride goeth before the fall, a group of middle schoolers said, “Hi!”  “Hello!”  “You’re pretty!”  I said, “Hi.  Thanks.”  Then I tripped on a rock in the sidewalk and fell flat on my face, skinning both of my knees like a five year old in her first bicycle accident.  Just kidding.  BUT my hair tie did pop out of my hair while I was talking to them, leaving me with a greasy, uncontained mess on top of my head, and I had been feeling REALLY good about my funky short ponytail right on the top of my head, and my rocker-chick nylon choker and army surplus store t-shirt, so it was just as devastating as falling over and scarring up my knees!  I’m over it now, thanks to Caedmon’s Call empowering India in my ear for the last two hours.

Seriously, if you haven’t heard this cd yet, stop whatever you are doing, and drive as fast as you can to Mardel or my apartment and listen.  It’s a life-changing cd, so you better bring a little pack of tissues, your journal, and your best friend!

Officially, I have 63 days left in Korea.

Once, this was my neighborhood. Pretty crazy that it was real. I've been thinking about this 'hood a lot lately. I pray for God's mercy there.

Here's Kevin on his birthday. I loved this kid's zeal/attention deficit. He WAS a handful, but when I look at this, I forget all about that!

Leave a Reply

